BJP announces list of 85 candidates for Uttar Pradesh

New Delhi:The BJP on Friday released a list of 85 candidates for Uttar Pradesh assembly polls.

Aditi Singh, who recently quit Congress to join BJP, is fighting from Rae Bareli. Ex-IPS officer Asim Arun, who had joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday, will be contesting from Kannauj.

Nitin Agarwal, the Hardoi MLA who recently quit Samajwadi Party and joined the BJP, will fight election from his old constituency.

The BJP had on January 15 released its first list of 107 candidates, which included the named of Chief minister Yogi Adityanath who will contest from Gorakhpur (Urban) assembly constituency and deputy chief minister Keshav Prasad Maurya from Sirathu assembly seat in Prayagraj district. Three more candidates were announced for Baheri Bhojipura, and Aligarh subsequently.

With this list, the BJP has so far announced 195 candidates out of the 403 assembly constituencies.

The elections in Uttar Pradesh will take place on February 10, 14 , 20, 23, 27, March 3 and 7.


Leave a Reply