World Giants win Legends League Cricket title

Muscat: An all-round performance helped World Giants beat Asia Lions by 25 runs in the Legends League Cricket final match here at Al Amerat ground on Saturday. Chasing the tournament’s highest target of 257, Asia Lions got off to a decent start with Tillakaratne Dilshan and Sanath Jayasuriya stitching a 57-run opening stand. However, brothers Morne and Albie Morkel removed the openers in quick succession. While Dilshan (25) gave a fine catch at mid-wicket off Morne, Jayasuriya (38) holed out at mid-wicket off Albie. Albie returned to rattle the middle order along with Monty Panesar, keeping Asia Lions at bay. Panesar kept it tight and bowled Tharanga, who missed the line and walked back to dugout for 25. Asia Lions skipper Misbah-ul-Haq (2) edged an outside-off Albie delivery which resulted in another scalp for the World Giants. Asghar Afghan (24) followed his captain back to dugout as Daren Sammy completed a superb catch at long-on off Albie. Asia Lions went down fighting, with Mohammad Yousuf’s unbeaten 39 towards the end as World Giants restricted them to 231 for the loss of eight wickets. Earlier, Corey Anderson’s unbeaten knock of 94 off just 43 balls powered World Giants to post 256 for the loss of five wicktes after being put into bat. Nuwan Kulasekara struck twice for Asia Lions inside powerplay overs, dismissing Phil Mustard (7) and Kevin O’Brien (2). But Kevin Pietersen took the revenge as he smashed five maximums and two boundaries. It was Chaminda Vaas who finally got the better of the Englishman. Pietersen holed out to long-off after a well-made 48 off just 22 balls. Brad Haddin (37 off 16 balls) and skipper Daren Sammy (38 off 17 balls) too chipped in with their cameo performances. Towards the end, Anderson took charge as he hammered eight maximums and seven boundaries. Brief score: World Giants 256/5 in 20 overs (Corey Anderson 94 not out, Kevin Pietersen 48; Nuwan Kulasekara 3/45) beat Asia Lions 231/8 in 20 overs (Mohammad Yousuf 39 not out; Albie Morkel 3/35, Monty Panesar 2/40) by 25 runs. UNI PN

Leave a Reply