New Zealand announces T20 World Cup squad

Wellington: New Zealand have announced their squad for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia next month.
Kane Williamson is set to lead New Zealand for the third time in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. Batter Martin Guptill will feature in his record 7th ICC T20 World Cup.
Guptill’s selection for his seventh T20 World Cup sees him join an exclusive list of players in Dwayne Bravo, Chris Gayle, Mohammad Mahmudullah and Mushfiqur Rahim – while Shakib Al-Hasan and Rohit Sharma are set for their eighth events.
The Black Caps have made three changes to the squad that featured in the Final of the 2021 T20 World Cup – Lockie Ferguson, Michael Bracewell and Finn Allen replace Kyle Jamieson, Todd Astle and Tim Seifert respectively.
Two players who recently declined a central contract – Trent Boult and Jimmy Neesham – find a place in the squad and so does Finn Allen, who is one of the newest players to bag a central contract.
New Zealand have a strong pace attack at their disposal consisting of Boult, Ferguson, Tim Southee, and Adam Milne. Ish Sodhi will lead the spin attack and will be supported by Bracewell and Mitchell Santner.
Bracewell only made his New Zealand debut in 2022 but has quickly become an important cog in the wheel.
Glenn Phillips, Daryl Mitchell, Santner, Bracewell and Neesham give the squad the perfect balance with their ability to contribute both with the bat and ball.
Squad: Kane Williamson (c), Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Mitchell Santner, Glenn Phillips, Jimmy Neesham, Daryl Mitchell, Adam Milne, Martin Guptill, Lachlan Ferguson, Devon Conway, Mark Chapman, Michael Bracewell, Trent Boult, Finn Allen.


Leave a Reply