BJP sweeps civic polls, wins all 17 seats of mayor

Lucknow: Ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) sweeped the urban local body polls in the urban area of Uttar Pradesh as it won all 17 posts of mayor in a similar number of Municipal Corporation of the state counting for which was held on Saturday.

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), which won Aligarh and Meerut seats in the last election, saw those seats snatched by BJP, which also won the mayor election in newly created Shahjahanpur Municipal Corporation where party candidate Archana Verma emerged victorious.

Out of the 17 mayoral candidates fielded by the BJP, 14 were new while the party had placed bets on the outgoing mayors in Kanpur, Bareilly and Moradabad. The party won all the 17 seats as people voted for the developmental works being carried out by the Yogi Government.

Four BJP candidates achieved the distinction of becoming mayors for the second time. While Pramila Pandey from Kanpur, Vinod Agarwal from Moradabad and Umesh Gautam Anwarat from Bareilly became the mayor for the second time in a row, Harikant Ahluwalia has been the mayor of Meerut earlier also.

BJP’s Bihari Lal was the first to win in Jhansi. He got a total of 123503 votes. Other candidates who contested the election lost even their deposits.

CM Yogi Adityanath held a total of 50 rallies to campaign for BJP candidates in the municipal elections. He held public meetings in 10 municipal corporation areas falling under 9 divisions.

Yogi held a total of 28 rallies in the first phase, which included participating in rally cum conferences at 4 places in Gorakhpur, 3 in Lucknow and two in Varanasi, for which polling was held on May 4. In the second he held 22 rallies in 7 municipal corporations in nine divisions.

The CM held public meetings twice in Ayodhya. The presence of the CM in the Sant Sammelan played a big role in the candidate’s victory. He held public meetings twice in Ayodhya.

In Lucknow BJP candidate Sushma Kharkwal defeated her nearest rival Vandana Mishra of SP by a margin of 52,699 votes. While 1,16,205 votes were polled in the favour of the BJP candidate, the SP nominee got 63,506 votes.

BJP has never lost the mayoral election in Lucknow in the last 30 years. The party also won a majority of 110 seats of corporators in Lucknow Municipal Corporation.

In Varanasi BJP’s Ashok Tiwari defeated Om Prakash Singh of SP by more than 60,000 votes. BJP candidate Ganesh Chandra Kesarwani won the election in Prayagraj defeating his nearest rival Ajay Shrivastava of SP by a margin of 1,29,394 votes.

In Gorakhpur, the home district of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, BJP candidate Dr Manglesh Shrivastava, defeated his nearest rival Kajal Nishad of SP by a margin of 60,776 votes. While Shrivastava received 1,80,629 votes, 1,19.753 votes were polled in favour of Kajal Nishad.

Similarly, in Ayodhya BJP’s Girish Pati Tripathi defeated Ashish Pandey ‘Deepu’ of SP by a margin of around 35,625 votes. While the BJP candidate got 77,456 votes, 41,831 votes were polled in favour of the SP nominee.

BJP also won 27 seats of corporators out of 90 in Ayodhya Municipal Corporation. While SP won 17, 10 went to independents, 3 to Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), 1 each to the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), Peace Party and Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD). This is the first time when the AAP has won a seat in Ayodhya.

In Kanpur BJP candidate Pramila Pandey won the mayoral poll for the second time by defeating Vandana Bajpai of SP. In Aligarh Prashant Singhal of BJP emerged victorious. Similarly BJP candidates Hari Kant Ahluwalia and Bihari lal Arya won election in Meerut and Jhansi respectively.

In Shahjahanpur BJP candidate Archana Verma maintained an early lead and defeated Congress nominee Nighat Iqbal by a margin of 30,256 votes by the time counting ended. Archana received 80,740 votes.

It may be noted that Archana Verma, who was given ticket by SP, left the party a day before the party a day before the nomination and joined BJP and was named as mayoral candidate.

In Saharanpur BJP candidate Dr Ajay Singh defeated his nearest rival Khatija Begum of BSP by a margin of 7,972 votes. Similarly, in Mathura-Vrindavan Vinod Agarwal of BJP defeated Raja Mohtashim Ahmed by a margin of more than 1 lakh votes.

District Magistrate Pulkit Khare said that while 1,45,720 votes were polled in favour of BJP candidate Vinod Agarwal, Mohtashim Ahmed got 35,191 votes.

In Moradabad BJP candidate Vinod Agarwal made a hat-trick by winning the election for the third consecutive time with 1,21,415 votes. He defeated Congress candidate Haji Rizwan by a margin of 3,589 votes and deposit of all other candidates was forfeited in Moradabad, which was considered as SP bastion.

In Bareilly BJP candidate Umesh Gautam defeated SP supported independent candidate IS Tomar by a margin of 56,328 votes. Here out of 80 posts of corporators more than 50 were won by BJP candidates.

BJP candidate Sunita Dayal won in Ghaziabad. In Agra BJP candidate Hemlata Diwakar defeated Lala Valmiki of BSP and won by 1,13,470 votes.


Leave a Reply