England announce new captain for Ireland ODI series

London: Three uncapped players feature in England’s 13-member squad for the ODI series against Ireland later this month.
Zak Crawley is set to lead England in the three-match ODI series against Ireland at home. starting 20 September. His fellow Test opener Ben Duckett is also a part of the squad and will act as Crawley’s deputy for the series.
The series will mark the return of Crawley back to ODI cricket after a gap of more than two years.
The 25-year-old last played the format in 2021 but has been a regular in the longer format, having particularly excelled under the leadership of Ben Stokes and Brendon McCullum.
The squad also features three uncapped players – batsman Sam Hain, wicketkeeper-batsman Jamie Smith and pacer George Scrimshaw.
Hain earns the callup after great performances in the Vitality Blast and The Hundred.
Smith too impressed in The Hundred, scoring 191 runs at a strike rate of 160.50 in seven games. The right-arm quick Scrimshaw scalped 20 wickets in 14 games for Derbyshire in the Blast.
World Cup hopeful Harry Brook, who didn’t make the cut when England announced their provisional squad, will have a chance to make a final impression, with the last day to finalise the squads being 28 September.
England squad: Zak Crawley (captain), Rehan Ahmed, Harry Brook, Brydon Carse, Ben Duckett, Sam Hain, Will Jack, Craig Overton, Matthew Potts, Phil Salt, George Scrimshaw, Jamie Smith, Luke Wood.
1st ODI: 20 September, Headingley
2nd ODI: 23 September, Trent Bridge
3rd ODI: 26 September, Bristol

Leave a Reply