Ten BJP MPs resign from Parliament after winning assembly elections

New Delhi: Ten Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MPs, who won the recent assembly elections, resigned from the Parliament on Wednesday.

Among the 10 MPs, two were Union ministers, Narendra Singh Tomar, and Prahlad Patel, who won the assembly election from Dimani, and Narsinghpur constituencies respectively in Madhya Pradesh.

Narendra Singh Tomar holds the agriculture portfolio while Prahlad Patel is the Minister of state for food processing and Jal Shakti.

Other MPs who have resigned are Uday Pratap Singh, and Riti Pathak from Madhya Pradesh; Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, Diya Kumari, Kirori Lal Meena (Rajya Sabha MP) from Rajasthan; Arun Sao and Gomti Sai from Chhattisgarh and Rakesh Singh from MP.

Faggan Singh Kulaste, minister of state for steel and rural development, the fourth minister to have been fielded by the BJP in the state elections, could not win the assembly seat.

There are 12 BJP MPs who won the state elections in Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Madhya Pradesh.

The two Lok Sabha MPs from Rajasthan, Baba Balaknath, and Union Minister of state for tribal affairs Renuka Singh, who won from Chhattisgarh, are yet to submit their resignation.


Leave a Reply