Security breach rocks both Houses of Parliament, 13 Opposition MPs suspended

New Delhi: Amid massive Opposition uproar over Parliament security breach, both

Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha on Thursday witnessed repeated disruptions and adjournments of proceedings.

As many as 13 MPs were suspended from Lok Sabha for their alleged misconduct for the remainder period of the ongoing winter session. In Rajya Sabha, Trinamool Congress MP Derek O’Brien was also suspended for the same period for his ‘ignoble misconduct’.

It was earlier reported that 14 MPs had been suspended from Lok Sabha but Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi later clarified that 13 MPs had been suspended as DMK MP SR Parthiban’s suspension had been withdrawn. It was found that the DMK MP was not present in the House.

The Minister said that Parthiban’s suspension was a case of mistaken identity and his name has been dropped from the list of suspended MPs.

Among those MPs suspended from Lok Sabha include DMK’s Kanimozhi and Congress’ Manickam Tagore.

As soon as Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha convened for the day, opposition MPs demanded a discussion on security lapse and pressed for a statement by Home Minister Amit Shah. They also demanded action against the BJP MP Pratap Simha through whom the intruders secured Lok Sabha visitor gallery pass.

In a shocking incident which triggered panic and chaos in Lok Sabha today, two men carrying smoke canisters jumped into the chamber of the Lower House from the visitors’ gallery.

Both the intruders were immediately apprehended and taken into Police custody.

While the opposition has mounted attack on the government for the security breach, the ruling party has said that the opposition is indulging in politics.

“A horrible, undemocratic move to suspend opposition MPs for demanding an answer from the Government on the shocking security breach in Parliament yesterday. On the one hand 5 MPs are suspended for demanding accountability, while on the other hand, there is no action against the BJP MP who facilitated the entry of the miscreants. This is a murder of democracy. The BJP government has reduced Parliament to a rubber stamp. Not even the pretence of a democratic process is left,” wrote Rajya Sabha MP and Congress General Secretary K C Venugopal on ‘X’.

Meanwhile, Rajya Sabha has passed a motion to refer TMC MP Derek O’Brien’s matter to the Committee of Privileges. Leader of the House Piyush Goyal moved the motion in the Upper House which said that O’Brien repeatedly disregarded Chair’s directions.

“…House takes a serious note of the conduct of Shri Derek O’Brien, member who was suspended from the service of the Council under rule 256 (2) to deliberately continuing (in) the chamber in gross violation of rule 256 (3) and disregarding repeated directions imparted by the Chair thereby compounding his offence and committing a serious contempt of the House and breach of privilege of members and agrees that the Matter be referred to the Committee of Privileges of Rajya Sabha for examination, investigation and report within a period of three months,” the motion read.

The motion was passed by voice vote and subsequently the House was adjourned for the day.


Leave a Reply