Kharge welcomes Bharat Ratna to Narasimha Rao, Charan Singh, M S Swaminathan

New Delhi: The Indian National Congress on Friday welcomed the government’s decision to confer Bharat Ratna on former Prime Ministers PV Narasimha Rao and Chaudhary Charan Singh and Dr M S Swaminathan.

Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge on social media platform X said, “On the behalf of Indian National Congress, we welcome the Bharat Ratna being conferred to Shri P V Narasimha Rao, Chaudhary Charan Singh and Dr M S Swaminathan”.

Hailing the former Prime Minister and Ex-Congress president PV Narasimha Rao, Kharge said that “he has tremendously contributed to nation building”.

He said that under his government, India embarked on a transformative journey with a series of economic reforms that played a pivotal role in shaping the middle class for generations to come.

The Congress Chief also underlined Narasimha Rao’s contributions in India’s nuclear programme and foreign policy including the ‘Look East’ policy.

Calling the former Prime Minister Chaudhary Charan Singh as son of soil, Kharge said that “he is known for his pro-farmer policies and is widely respected by the crores of farmers — our Annadatas and Khet Mazdoors in the country”.

On Dr Swaminathan, he said, “The legendary scientist is known for his unmatched contribution to the field of agricultural science and his intervention in making India self-sufficient in food grains through the Green Revolution, is a milestone in nation building”.

“An institution builder par excellence, above all a humanitarian, he is also known as “the Father of Economic Ecology”, a richly deserved pseudonym,” Kharge said.

“Congress party applauds their vision, their hardwork and the exceptional legacies of these national icons, which the nation has always celebrated,” he added.


Leave a Reply